Hartmut Salzmann (Soprano and Alto Sax)

Most of the “Blattwerk” arrangements are penned by himself. “Classics Today” wrote about him: “Superarrangeur Hartmut Salzmann knows his sax-playing and arranging to perfection.” He specializes in jazz and contemporary arrangements of classical and baroque works. Hartmut was born in 1968. Since the age of 12 he has been musically active. He first learned to play piano and clarinet. At the age of 15, he discovered a love for the saxophone and studied it as his major instrument. Concert travel has taken him to Asia and into Europe. His passion besides music: bicycle racing and cycling holidays.


Timur Isakov (Alto Sax/Clarinet)

Timur was born in 1969 in Kirgiizia. At the age of 10 he began playing saxophone and clarinet. Timur studied clarinet at the Music School in Alma-Ata (Kazakhstan) and worked as concert master at the Theatre of Opera and Ballet in Ashgabat (Turkmenistan). At the local music school, he worked as a lecturer for the clarinet and saxophone as well as conducting the chamber orchestra. In 2001 Timur moved with his family to Germany and studied chamber music at the Acadamey of Music (Musikhochschule) in Detmold. Timur works as a concert musician and music teacher. He is married and has three children.


Alban Hauser (Tenor Sax)

Alban Hauser (* 1972) is part of the ensemble since 2015. At the age of four, he discovered the recorder for himself, but after a while realized that there were other instruments as well. Consequently, he switched to clarinet and later learned piano and saxophone. Alban studied clarinet and piano at the music academy Detmold.

He works as an instrumental teacher and freelance musician. In addition to the foliage saxophone quartet Alban can be heard with the duo "Bhatti & Hauser" (Electronica / Tango / World).


Bernd Stich (Baritone Sax)

Bernd Stich (nickname “Pieks” – which is related to his last name) was born in 1966. From 1974 he was significantly involved in many musical projects. He learned during his career the foundation for various big-band saxophone phrases – by such concerts featuring Herb Geller, Silvia Droste, etc. Bernd is the rhythm section of “Blattwerk” Saxophone Quartet. Without his low notes the music would only be a high pitched chirping. To keep in condition for the heavy baritone he takes part on long-distance running. His motto: Always the tongue on the reed.

Hartmut Salzmann (Sopran- und Altsax)

Die meisten „Blattwerk“-Arrangements stammen aus seiner Feder. „Klassik heute“ schrieb über ihn: „Superarrangeur Hartmut Salzmann versteht sein Sax- und Satzspiel ohne Fehl und Tadel.“ Er ist auf jazzig-zeitgenössische Bearbeitungen klassischer und barocker Werke spezialisiert. Hartmut wurde 1968 geboren. Seit dem 12. Lebensjahr ist er musikalisch aktiv. Zunächst lernte er Klavier und Klarinette zu spielen. Mit 15 Jahren entdeckte er die Liebe zum Saxophon und studierte es als Hauptfach. Konzertreisen führten ihn nach Asien und ins europäische Ausland. Seine Leidenschaft neben der Musik: Rennradfahren, Radreisen.


Timur Isakov (Alt-Sax/Klarinette)

Timur wurde 1969 in Kirgisien geboren. Im Alter von 10 Jahren begann er Saxophon und Klarinette zu spielen. Timur studierte Soloklarinette an der Musikhochschule in Alma-Ata (Kasachstan) und arbeitete als Konzertmeister am Theater für Oper und Ballett in Ashgabat (Turkmenistan). An der dortigen Musikhochschule war er als Dozent für die Fächer Klarinette und Saxophon sowie als Dirigent des Kammerorchesters tätig. 2001 siedelte Timur mit seiner Familie nach Deutschland um und studierte Kammermusik an der  Hochschule für Musik in Detmold. Timur arbeitet als Konzertmusiker und Musikpädagoge. Er ist verheiratet und hat drei Kinder.


Alban Hauser (Tenor-Sax)

Alban Hauser (*1972) gehört seit 2015 zum Ensemble. Mit vier Jahren entdeckte er die Blockflöte für sich, merkte aber nach einiger Zeit, dass es auch noch andere Instrumente gibt. Folgerichtig wechselte er im Grundschulalter zur Klarinette und lernte später Klavier und Saxophon. Alban hat an der Musikhochschule Detmold Klarinette und Klavier studiert.

Er arbeitet als Instrumentallehrer und frei schaffender Musiker. Neben dem Blattwerk Saxophonquartett ist Alban mit dem Duo „Bhatti & Hauser“ (Elektronika/Tango/World) zu hören.


Bernd Stich (Bariton-Sax)

Bernd Stich (genannt „Pieks“ – was mit seinem Nachnamen zusammenhängt) wurde 1966 geboren. Ab 1974 war er an vielen musikalischen Projekten maßgeblich beteiligt. Er bildete im Laufe seiner Karriere das Fundament für diverse Big-Band-Saxophonsätze – so etwa bei Konzerten mit Herb Geller, Silvia Droste etc. Bernd ist die Rhythmusgruppe des Blattwerk-Saxophonquartetts. Ohne seine tiefen Töne wäre die Musik nur helles Gezwitscher.

Die Kondition für das schwere Bariton besorgt er sich bei dem einen oder anderen Langstreckenlauf. Sein Motto: Immer die Zunge am Blatt.